Dog Breath

Today I post my last entry for the 2014 Small Fry Safari KidLit Readers Challenge! Whew! Just under the wire so to speak!

The challenge was to read and review books in the following categories –

1. A book with something related to Safari in the title.
My entry was Mr. Gumpy’s Outing by John Burningham

IMG_4742

2. A book with a piece of furniture in the title.
My entry was Dogs on the Bed by Elizabeth Bluemle

IMG_0296

3. A book with a specific time in the title.
My entry was It’s Milking Time by Phyllis Alsdurf

IMG_1529

4. A book with someone’s name in the title.
I had two entries for this one! — Sweethearts of Rhythm by Marilyn Nelson and
    You Are My Cupcake by Joyce Wan

IMG_4966IMG_4963

5. A book with something that comes in pairs.
My entry was My Feet are Laughing by Lissette Norman

IMG_1516

6. A book with something precious in the title.
My entry was Water in the Park by Emily Jenkins

IMG_4745

7. A book with some sort of wordplay in the title.
My entry was A Poke in the I by Paul B. Janeczko

IMG_1404

8. And my last one! A book with something unsightly in the title.

And my contribution here is —

IMG_1867

Dog Breath
the Horrible Trouble
with Hally Tosis

by Dav Pilkey

published originally by Blue Sky Press in 1994
My copy is published by Scholastic in 2004

It begins –
There once was a dog named Hally,
who lived with the Tosis family.
Hally Tosis was a very good dog,
but she had a big problem.

Now I believe that poor Hally’s problems started with her name! I have a fascination with names. Names can foretell your destiny. This might have been a whole different story if this little dog had been named Molly or Susie or something.

But she wasn’t. She was named Hally. And her destiny was BAD BREATH. Her breath was so bad that when she opened her mouth, horrible things happened. Trees shriveled, wallpaper peeled off the walls, folks crossed to the other side of the street. Even skunks avoided little Hally. But Hally didn’t notice any of it. She was a happy little dog with a smile and a wagging tail.

IMG_1870But one day, Grandma came for a visit and was knocked out cold! Mr and Mrs Tosis decided that Hally had to go! Oh No!! But now comes the funny parts!! The Tosis Tots try to do something about Hally’s bad breath. They go to a mountain with a breathtaking view, and a movie and a roller coaster that are supposed to take your breath away. None of it worked. But that night, Hally became the super hero! Burglars broke in the Tosis house and Hally knocked them out cold!! Yay! Bad Breath wins the day!!!

And they all lived happily ever after!! Yay!!

Now I understand that lots of dogs have Bad Breath. I believe that that is a subjective assessment. I have found that what smells offensive to my Mom Person is usually quite pleasant to my nose. The Mom Person doesn’t like for me to have Bad Breath so she brushes my teeth pretty regularly. That’s ok by me because that chicken toothpaste stuff is really yummy! mmmmmmmm! And she says that having nice clean teeth without all the bits of goat and chicken candy will keep me healthier. Whatever.

IMG_1859Anyway, I have now completed my Quest! Yay for me! And Yay for Bruce the Bookshelf Gargoyle who initiated this Quest! You might want to go visit him on his bookshelf HERE. I don’t think he gets out much and he might like some visitors.

Stay safe and healthy – and watch your Breath!!
Your library friend with sparkling Breath
Rhythm
Copy of img311

 

24 thoughts on “Dog Breath

  1. Good job, Rhythm! Dog Breath sounds like a funny book! I don’t mind doggie breath at all, but I am glad your Mom Person brushers your teeth to keep you healthy. “Whatever”- ha!

  2. What a howl, Rhythm! Kids will just double in laughter, but dogs will whimper. Agree with you about a name “Hally” does have an influence. Didn’t realize you had to work so hard to find dog books with specific items in the titles. That took some major research!

  3. Great choices for the challenge, R. What fun. Mom brushes my teeth every single day in case my breath turns ugly – like it was when she first found me. I think I smell like flowers!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

Leave a comment