Goin’ to the Doctor

I went to the doctor the other day. I actually have 2 doctors that I go to. One is for my vaccinations and when I get sick or break a toe or stuff like that. The other one is for making me feel good all over. I don’t like going to that 1st one. She’s what is called a traditional doctor. She’s nice enough, but I’m never quite sure what she’s going to be doing to me.

But going to visit the 2nd one is a really special treat! I always know that whatever he does is GOOD! He’s what is called a non-traditional doctor. He does acupuncture and chiropractic and other magical things. I’ve been having some back problems that make my back legs kind of wobbly. It’s a real nuisance. So I go to visit Dr Bruton about once a month.

IMG_4225IMG_4224

IMG_1054

He sticks little needles down my back and then hooks up some wires that make me kind of tingle all over. The big red light and the little blue light are some kind of heat/laser lights that feel really good. After he does all of that stuff he gives me a good massage all over and gets all the kinks out of my back.

I also have allergies and lately I’ve been itching a lot. The Mom Person is always after me to quit chewing on my feet! So you see that little plastic bag sitting on my back? That’s full of gunk from our vacuum cleaner. Dr Bruton puts that on me while he does his magic and it’s supposed to desensitize me. I guess it works because I’m not itchy anymore at all! Like I said, the doctor is magic! And so is his assistant, Sarah. She always knows that exact spot that needs some care. I LOVE going to visit Dr Bruton and Sarah!

When we got home we read a couple of books about going to the doctor. The Mom Person found a cute Little Golden Book called Doctor Dan the Bandage Man. I like that title!

img291

It was first published in 1950! That was a long time ago! It was written by Helen Gaspard and illustrated by Corinne Malvern. Young Dan cuts his finger while playing cowboys with his friends. His Mom tells him not to worry, she’ll clean it up and put a bandage on it and all will be well. And so it was! Then Dan turns into Doctor Dan! His sister’s doll has a tumble from the wagon and gets a booboo on her head. Doctor Dan to the rescue! Then his sister has a scrape, and his dog hurts his paw, and Dad gets a cut. Doctor Dan fixes them all. It’s a pretty cute book!

img292

The next book came from the library. The title is Little Whistle’s Medicine. Written by Cynthia Rylant and illustrated by Tim Bowers. It was published by Harcourt, Inc. in 2002. Little Whistle is a cute little hamster who lives in a toy store. At night all the toys come to life and go around visiting each other. Little Whistle wants to visit the Soldier who tells stories, but the Soldier has bumped his head and doesn’t feel like telling stories. Little Whistle goes all over the toy story asking all the toys if anyone can help. Finally the Mother Doll directs him to the doctor kits and Little Whistle is set to become Doctor Little Whistle! So he bandages up the Soldier and all is well! I didn’t know that bandages had such restorative powers!! Incredible!

I hope that you all have no need for bandages or doctors any time soon! As for me — I’m feeling fine!

Copy of IMG_2471

36 thoughts on “Goin’ to the Doctor

  1. I hope your back isn’t bothering you too much and that your “wonder doctor’s” treatment will help. It’s always so helpful and comforting to have a doctor you can trust, isn’t it?
    I myself have never tried acupuncture, but I have a physical therapist here close by which I always describe as having “golden hands”. She’s always been able to help me with my back problems. What I miss here, though, is a treatment I’ve frequently had in Germany, where they first determine the strength of your back, shoulder and stomach muscles and the mobility of the spine, and the have special machines designed to just improve only the special deficiencies they have diagnosed for certain muscles. That plus a good manual therapy would be the best for me, I think.
    Best regards, and have a great Sunday,
    Pit

  2. My dog has arthritis and I’ve been thinking of bringing her to a holistic vet to help her with it (she takes supplements which have helped her A LOT, but anything I can do to help her is welcome). Do you have to do the acupuncture often?

  3. Lucky you to have a doggie mum that takes that good care of you! Enjoy your acupuncture, dear Rhythm. Well, getting older is a struggle, isn’t it? A big hug to you! 🙂
    Love Dina
    P.S. You’re really goodlooking…

Leave a Reply

