Paint Spatters

img222

I’m going off road a bit today and looking into the art world. My live in buddy and work partner, Walker, is quite the artist and recently spent some time with some 2nd graders splattering some paint around. So I thought I would tell you all about Walker and his world.

Walker is a 5 yr old black Lab who, like me, was career changed from Southeastern Guide Dogs, Inc. in Palmetto, Fl.  He was career changed because he was evidently being a fool with some of his dog buddies and hurt his knee bad enough that the trainers and veterinarians at the school felt like it would limit his working life. So he came back to live with us.

Walker hurt his knee,( which is perfectly fine now ), but his tail works overtime. He is one happy boy! So one day the Mom Person decided to put his tail to work, and the artist was born.

dec 2012 walkerIt takes a lot of preparation to create his masterpieces, so he doesn’t paint often. He uses acrylics or water colors on paper.  He says he gets a little nervous painting in front of a bunch of kids. But laughter makes him happy and it’s hard to rein in that tail!

This class had read a story about an elephant who paints. Their teacher, who happens to be the Mom Person’s daughter, asked Walker to come do a painting demonstration for them. So, Walker painted for the kids. They will all get their very own Walker originals after he signs them all. Then the kids did some pictures for Walker! Now isn’t that cool!  So I’m sharing with you some of their artwork as well. It’s just an artsy day!

img223

img224img225img227img226

We ended this artistic trail with a fabulous blog post from Kristin Nador. She has a great post about “getting your creative groove on” with a fun, fun video of the television painter Mr. Bob Ross. I think you should visit Ms Nador and check it out!

Now go get your groove on and do something creative today!

11 thoughts on “Paint Spatters

  1. How fun that would be! Yesterday one of my community readers read Dewey’s Christmas in the Library and all this kids talked about how much fun it would be to have a resident cat or dog. I’m still surprised that your libraries allow animals – have there never been any issues with childrens’ allergies?

    • I’ve been going to the schools and library for about 6 yrs and it’s never been an issue. Occasionally I encounter someone at school who has allergies, but they just kind of stay away from me. And at the library we have our spot where we read and I guess if any one with allergies comes in they just don’t come where we are. We have a very supportive community. I wish you could have a cat or dog.

Leave a comment