The Night Before Christmas – with Mr. Wegman!

IMG_5710

William Wegman and his magical weimaraners are back for Christmas!
My PPBF pick for today is William Wegman’s version of The Night Before Christmas, starring Batty, Chip, Chundo, and Crooky.

This book was published in 2000 by Hyperion Books for Children. It is appropriate for ALL ages.

It is the classic Christmas tale written by Clement C. Moore for his family in 1822. Mr. Moore called his poem A Visit From St. Nicholas and it is probably now the most popular and well known Christmas story in history.

Mr. Wegman’s take on this story is quite unique. His dogs play the parts of reindeer, Santa, and all the other characters in the story. And they do a very fine job!!

IMG_5714Every year at Christmas, we read this book to the kindergarteners and pre-schoolers. Those kids LOVE it! You just can’t help but chuckle at that “right jolly old elf”!

I don’t really have any lesson plans for this book. It’s just a fun book to read. I suppose that you could talk about the history of The Night Before Christmas. And I’ll give you a link here. You might also act out the story with the kids as the reindeer and Santa. Or you might have a talk about how you train a dog to do these silly things!

Mr. Wegman and his dogs did quite a few bits for Sesame Street. Here is their take on Rub a Dub Dub.

If you would like to know more about Mr. Wegman here is a video interview with him talking about his work. It’s rather long, but worth the view.

Just remember — William WegmanThe Night Before Christmas. Check it out! You’ll be so glad you did!

And for more awesome Picture Book reviews visit Susanna Hill!

28 thoughts on “The Night Before Christmas – with Mr. Wegman!

  1. Rhythm, you look totally awesome in your Christmas accessories. Our choc lab, Jewel has a candy cane collar – but I’m thinking we need to try your ribbon collar. Nice pick for PPBF, Mr. Wegman and his pooches always bring a grin.

    • Thank you for the compliment! This is my favorite outfit. I makes me feel like a cheerleader! The Mom Person made it for me. And yes, those weimaraners so bring the smiles and chuckles. I hope you and Jewel have a nice Christmas.

  2. Ironically, I have never read this book. Although I enjoy a modern, more geographically relevant tale around this time of year: The Australian Twelve Days of Christmas by Heath McKenzie….mainly because the illustrations are just lovely. I heartily approve of your header picture…very atmospheric!

    • You have never read The Night Before Christmas?! You have had a sheltered life. I have read many versions of The Twelve Days of Christmas. I will look for the Australian one if you will look for the Texas one. Then we can compare. I’m glad you like my Christmas decorating.

  3. Louise says she can do that thing that the Weimers do, she will right a book if Mommy will let her. Maybe next holiday you will have something new to review: Holidays at DogDaz Zoo. … or not. Thanks for the review.

  4. This is the second time your I haven’t been able to open your link on Susanna’s site. I didn’t know who reviewed this wonderful story, until you responded to mine. Sounds like kids would have a lot fun with dogs pulling Santa’s sleigh!

    • Someone else told me that they couldn’t open the link and then Susanna said that she always has to fix it! So I need to get the Mom Person to figure out what she’s doing wrong! And get it right! So Sorry. But thank you for making the effort to visit! And yes, the kids do love this book!

  5. I didn’t know the weimaraners had starred in a Christmas book! What fun! I will definitely have to check this one out. I love the idea of the dogs as reindeer 🙂 And I’m sure the kids will love it. Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

