Farming with Kindergarten

We went to visit kindergarteners yesterday. Those kids sure know how to enjoy themselves!  We had a lot of fun with them.

My Mom Person did the reading and me and Walker got to listen and be loved on. What a life we have!
   

The book we chose was William Wegman’s Farm Days. We love William Wegman books at our house. I am fascinated by his dogs. They sure put up with a lot of wacky stuff. I’ve had to put up with a lot of crazy stuff with the Mom Person over the years, but I don’t think I have quite the patience that those Wegman dogs have.

Anyway, this book Farm Days is about Chip, the city boy, who goes to visit his country cousins, Batty and Crooky McDouble who live on a farm with Farmer Chundo McFay. Chip gets to help with all the farm chores — planting a vegetable garden, milking cows, mowing fields, and even being a scarecrow! Whew!!!  He thinks it’s all awfully hard work. It’s a pretty funny book and the kids laughed a lot. Especially when I was snoring just like Chip in the book!

We talked a lot about farms and chores. A lot of the kids live on farms with cows and horses and know all about the hard work. And they all have chores they have to do at home. I don’t have too many chores, just washing my food bowl, cleaning up crumbs on the floor, making the bed, keeping everybody on the right time schedule.

What kind of chores have to be done at your house? Do you plant gardens? Clean out barns? I like hearing about life in other houses. Farms, cities, animals, work, and play. Everybody’s life is sure different.

For more about William Wegman check out his website.

And check out Farm Days! You’ll be glad you did!

Leave a comment