Score One for the Sloths

I’m working on my serene attitude this year. Finding my own personal Zen place. Serenity is my goal. I mostly don’t have much problem finding the calm in a storm. My Mom Person calls me the Queen of Serene. But I’m trying to find more of that quiet stuff in my days. We came across a funny little book this week. About sloths. Now, I don’t know much about sloths. They don’t seem to live in my woods. But from what I’ve been told, sloths appear to be oddly serene. As in they seem to be odd creatures who know how to stay calm and tranquil in all situations. So this little book caught my eye on a couple of levels. Serenity and Oddness.

My friend Bruce the Bookshelf Gargoyle, has presented a new challenge for 2015. The Oddity Odyssey. Wherein we are supposed to read Odd books. You can find out more about this Odd Challenge by visiting Bruce on his bookshelf HERE. I have committed to reading 16 or more Odd books so that I might become Audaciously Odd! I am submitting this book as my Odd book # 1.

IMG_2255Score One for the Sloths
by Helen Lester
illustrated by Lynn Munsinger
published by Houghton Mifflin Co. in 2001

It begins –
Ho-dee-hum.
It was another day at Sleepy Valley Sloth School, and all
the sloths were just hanging around.

Which is what sloths do! Right?! This book is hilarious! It made me smile and chuckle and want to take a nap. The little student sloths had lessons in yawning, and snoring, and rolling over. I think that I could excel at this sloth school! Most of the time they slept and were “content in their slothfulness.”

IMG_2256Life was grand at Sleepy Valley Sloth School. Until – a new sloth came to school. A girl sloth named Sparky who was full of vim and vigor! Sparky did not want to sleep all day! She wanted to DO things! Read and play music and build castles! Oh! The other sloths were sooooooo boring! They even put me to sleep!

IMG_2265Then an official from administration came to visit and said that Sleepy Valley Sloth School had done dreadful on all the tests!! He wanted to close the school! But Sparky, the “mover and shaker” came up with a plan to save the school. I won’t give the ending away, but suffice it to say that Sparky saved the day! And the school! And it was all very odd indeed!

Here’s a little video of a real sloth. In the wild – not in school.

Take it slow and easy this week.
Take some time to be mindful of the world around you.
Your napping friend
Rhythm
Copy of img311

20 thoughts on “Score One for the Sloths

  1. “content in their slothfulness”

    That made me laugh πŸ™‚ I didn’t really know anything about sloths (the animal itself) ’til watching this video. The bugs made me crawl, and the expression on their faces are comical lol Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  2. Sloth moths! Who’d have thought?!
    I wonder if Sloths are related to koalas. They are also exceedingly lazy, sleepy and eat-y.
    Mad Martha recently came across a very cute sloth crochet pattern. Perhaps she could modify it into a sloth scarf. That would be appropriate. Fun too!
    And this book also has an ODD number in the title, so it is a brilliant inaugural choice for the challenge. Well done you!

    • I’m glad you approve of my choice, Bruce!! Those sloth moths were pretty creepy. You kind of like creepy, right? Someone should write a creepy story about sloth moths? A sloth scarf sounds pretty odd too. Would that be a scarf for you? I’m trying to imagine what it would look like? And would it attract moths? Hmmmmm.

  3. My daughter’s boyfriend thinks that a sloth would be the perfect pet – it would hang around all the time – just getting down once a week to use the bathroom. Sounds like a fun book. Anything that Helen Lester writes is likely to be fun – and a bit odd.

  4. That sounds like a great challenge! Sloths are fabulous and we love this picture book! Sloths live a long time — I think it has a lot to do with embracing the slow-living attitude! I need to go find this book — it has been slumbering on one of our bookshelves for far too long.

Leave a Reply

