The Start of a New Year

IMG_2242I understand that we are in to a brand new year. 2015. Numbers don’t mean much to my little canine brain. Years, days, weeks, months. Just words to me. I don’t have a good understanding about time. I know that I’m getting older – my body doesn’t seem to want to do things that it used to do. So I guess that means that years are passing by. But I wake up every morning to a new day! Sometimes I wake up from a good nap to a new day! And it’s most always good.

There seems to be a lot of celebration around the start of a new year. Staying awake way past my bedtime to watch balls drop on TV. I’d be happy to see some real balls drop. Drinking champagne and tooting horns. My humans love to celebrate. I guess a brand new year is something to hoot and holler about.

I’m celebrating the start of the new year with a couple of Ashley Wolff books that we happened across recently. All about that word “year.”

IMG_2249A Year of Beasts
by Ashley Wolff
published by E.P. Dutton in 1986

It begins –
In winter, in spring
in summer, and in fall –
in every month of the year
beasts of all kinds
live in the fields and forests
around Ellie and
Peter’s house.

IMG_2250And thus we are lead on a romping wildlife hunt through the months of the year. Each page spread reveals a new animal and a new happening apropos of the season. (apropos! big word for the day!) The text is simple and bold. It’s the pictures that tell the story of a year in the life of Ellie and Peter. And Ms Wolff’s artwork is absolutely JOYFUL!!

Book No. 2 is –

IMG_2245When Lucy Goes Out Walking
A Puppy’s First Year
by Ashley Wolff
published by Christy Ottaviano Books (Henry Holt and Co.) in 2009

It begins –
January
When Lucy goes out walking
In January snows,
She leaves a trail of puppy prints
Everywhere she goes.

IMG_2246This book is particularly apropos for our house because we have just been through a puppy’s first year! In each month of the year little Lucy encounters new and exciting adventures – just like our Electra has! And each month she gets a little bigger – just like our Electra has! And in the book, Lucy is always accompanied by her Best Boy. That’s one thing that Electra has missed out on. She’s had plenty of kids to play with, but no Best One. Me and Walker both had our Best Girl and I wish that she could have been here to help Electra, but alas she is far away and all grown up now. That’s what happens over the years. They come and go and little folks become big folks. And little critters become big critters. And all the new days march on.

You can visit Ms Wolff at her website HERE. Please do! You’ll be glad you did!

So – this is the Start of a New Year, A New Day – Make the most of NOW!

Celebrate your NOWS!
Rhythm
Copy of img311

16 thoughts on “The Start of a New Year

  1. Happy New Year, Rhythm! IT made me laugh to read that sometimes you wake up from a good nap and it’s the next day. My dog sometimes wakes up from a long nap right before going to bed for the night. You dogs have it right: the more naps, the better!

  2. Can dog feet manage snow alright or do they need little shoes to prevent cold-related dramas? I often see moronic humans walking their dogs in the middle of the day in the blistering heat, and feel like shouting at them,”Would you go walking on the cement in bare feet in 30degree heat? No? Then why are you making your dog do it??” I’m not up on the effects of snow on dog paws however, due to the lack of it round my way.

    • I don’t know much about snow myself. It doesn’t come this way very often and never lasts long enough for my feet to worry about it. We do get hot cement though!!!! Whew! That can be bad in the summertime! My Mom Person is very careful about it, but she doesn’t make us wear shoes. I do have some shoes though. They are 4 different colors and I wear them sometimes for Pet Therapy sessions to help kids learn their colors. They think it’s pretty funny to see a dog in shoes! Me too! πŸ˜€

    • I’m glad that you have now met Ms Wolff! She has done some really wonderful books. Lots of them!!! Like the Miss Bindergarten in Kindergarten series and the Baby Bear books. You need to check her out!! πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Rhythm,
    I really like your attitude “Years, days, weeks, months. Just words to me. … But I wake up every morning to a new day!” That’s just how it should be. Keep it up.
    All my best wishes for 2015 to you and your Mom person,
    Pit

  4. Fun book choices, R. I lived on the street for my first 3 years, so when Mom adopted me, I left 3 year old footprints in the snow! They were puppy prints to her, though… I totally agree that waking up after every nap many times each day is like starting a new day. That’s probably why we grow in dog years!! Happy 2015!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  5. Oh this post sounds so nostalgic and I love the word apropos. Those illos look beautiful. Happy New Year Rhythm πŸ—πŸ–

Leave a Reply

