Simpson’s Sheep Won’t Go to Sleep

I like to sleep

Any time, any place, any how

Most dogs are pretty good sleepers. I understand that dogs tend to sleep about 14 hours a day. If they have nothing better to do. We can drop and sleep or jump up and go – whatever circumstances call for. I don’t know of any dog night owls. Even our Dogzilla pup sleeps at night. All night. Every night.

But I guess not all critters are as flexible and adaptable as dogs. We recently read a really funny book about some sheep that couldn’t sleep. I don’t think sheep are very bright, when it comes down to it.

IMG_0298Simpson’s Sheep Won’t Go to Sleep
by Bruce Arant
published by Peter Pauper Press, Inc. in 2013

It begins –
Farmer Simpson works all day.
He plants his corn and beans and hay.
His feet get tired, his nose gets red.
At night, he likes to go to bed.

Farmer Simpson is a hard working gentleman. He deserves a good night’s rest. Most of his farm animals like their sleep, too. The cows and the pigs and the chickens all fall asleep like they should. But not those silly sheep! They find all kinds of excuses not to. Poor Farmer Simpson! It’s enough to make a guy weep! Those sheep who won’t sleep! What’s a man to do?! IMG_0313Well, I won’t tell you his secret. But, that farmer is one clever guy. He does come up with a cozy solution to the problem at hand.

My readers laughed a lot at those silly sheep! And at the silly illustrations of piles of cows and pigs and chickens snoozing and snoring away. The story itself is kind of like a Rhythmic lullaby. Those kids told me stories about putting their animals to bed at night. They all had dogs who slept with them in bed! That’s an excellent thing! Nobody had any sheep though, so I don’t know if this sleepless sheep thing is universal or not.

I know that my Mom Person sometimes doesn’t want to go to sleep at night. And I think there are some youngsters who have that same problem. This might be a good book to talk about those kinds of things. What do you need to get to sleep? Some hot cocoa? A cuddly teddy bear? A warm, cuddly dog? A lullaby?

Now I wish you a good night and sweet dreams

Your library friend
Rhythm
Copy of img311

28 thoughts on “Simpson’s Sheep Won’t Go to Sleep

  1. I always thought dogs slept because they are bored. But, you’re right they can pop up the minute you pick up a ball and off they go. Really sweet pictures. I enjoyed Simpson’s Sheep Won’t Go to Sleep. Sounds humorous.

  2. You know I had no idea how much Sandy had to sleep when we first got her. I was scared of her being bored and not knowing how much to play with her. I guess I’m glad she got some sleep now. The book sounds fun! Happy napping!

  3. I don’t mean to alarm you, but it appears that in one of those photos Electra has morphed into a CAT! You therapy dogs must have superpowers!
    The sheep-no-sleep thing might be true because there’s another picture book called Russell the Sheep where Russell can’t go to sleep. But he’s the only one in the flock that’s an insomniac, so maybe it’s a problem that only affects a small proportion of the ovine population and Simpson just got very unlucky.

    • I do have some superpowers for sure, Bruce, but not that kind. Sometimes I think that that would be a fun thing to do to Ms Electra. That cat was a lot easier to live with than she tends to be! I think I may need to do a sheep sleep survey and get to the bottom of this issue.

  4. I think ST J was speaking “British”. (Grew up in a British home, so I am bilingual; I can speak British and Canadian fluently, am can make myself understood in American and Australian, but Kiwi, now that’s a tough dialect!!) A jumper is a sweater.
    I did have a political science prof (many years ago) who saved his dog’s wool when he brushed him, his wife spun it into yarn and knit him a sweater for Christmas.
    Don’t know where all these stories are going. I think I will learn from you, Rhythm and go to sleep.

    • haha!! A sweater!! Who knew?! Not a Texan, that’s for sure! hahaha! That’s really funny. As funny as sleepless sheep! We have a friend who has spun her dog’s hair. And my Mom person says I produce enough to make a sweater! Or two or three. 😀

  5. I just came across this review and I want to say thank you for your kind words about Simpson and his flock. Thank you also for taking the time to include the terrific photos and the song by the Beatles. (I had never heard that one before and I love it!) I’ve never responded to a review site before, but this was so cleverly done, I just couldn’t resist. I’m honored that you enjoyed the book and I hope it serves to entertain and lull your little ones to sleep for years to come.

    All the best to you,

    Bruce Arant

    • Wow!!! Mr Arant himself?! Am I asleep and dreaming?! My tail is wagging big time! Thanks so much for stopping in for a visit! Mr Simpson and his sheep were big favorites at the library this summer. We read it many times to many readers. But I never did figure out how widespread this problem of sleepless sheep is. I’ll be looking forward to finding more books from your clever mind!

      • I told you he was nice, Rhythm 😀 And if he reads this—- Hi, Bruce! It’s Donna T. from NJ SCBWI 🙂 Missed you at the conference this year. It’s scaled down a bit, but still wonderful 🙂

        • My friend Donna! What an unexpected surprise. Thank you for your kind words. It just didn’t work for me to make it to the SCBWI conference in New Jersey this year. (Would have been nice though…maybe next year.) Take good care and tell all my NJSCBWI friends hello.

          • I just saw a bunch at the Princeton Book Festival 🙂 I missed the conf. in 2013 and it killed me lol Anyway, if you want, check out my blog. I just put up a post and you’ll see a bunch of people you know. Just click on “writersideup” ’cause the post is still there. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it, and go to Robin’s site, too for more pics 😀 So nice to hear you’re doing well! 😀 (I hope you don’t mind me mentioning that, Rhythm 🙂 )

      • I’m so happy to have made your tail wag. If I had a tail, it would be wagging too. Thank you again for your support for Farmer Simpson and his sleep-averse sheep. I’m currently illustrating a book for another author, but I’ll be concentrating my efforts on another one of my own books, hopefully soon. Thanks again… and keep that tail wagging.

Leave a Reply

