The Adventures of Tomato and Pea – a blog tour review!!

Yay!!! It’s my turn! It’s my turn! There’s a blog tour going on which you may or may not be aware of.

tp1blogtourbannerTo get the full blog tour schedule and to see where to find the book click on this banner!

I’ve been anxiously awaiting my turn to talk about this really cool book written by this really cool kid, Erik Weibel. I discovered Erik early in my blogging career about a year ago. He has a blog called This Kid Reviews Books. A KID doing book reviews! Surely a dog could do that, too! Erik is actually kind of like a Labrador retriever. He seems to be always happy, and positive about the world. He has a great sense of humor. He’s a real jokester. He’s a genius. He’s very creative. Like I said — a Labrador retriever! (I’m not sure if he likes to play ball or not)

Erik1Well, Erik — who is 11 years old in people years, has written and published a book! A very clever book, I might add. The Adventures of Tomato and Pea,  Book 1:A Bad Idea. But the book was a good idea!

The storyline from the back of the book — “For years the evil villain Wintergreen had tried to destroy super crime-stopper, Tomato and his sidekick, Pea, and take over planet Oarg. In a plan gone wrong, Wintergreen traps himself along with his arch-nemesis in a runaway rocket ship that crashes on a strange planet called “EAR-TH”. Now these perennial enemies must learn to work together to survive the dangers on this strange world. Hungry birds, enormous snakes and the giant inhabitants of EAR-TH stand between this brawling bunch of aliens and finding a way home.”

IMG_3142We took this book to school and read it with some 3rd graders. It was the perfect book to share with them because they have been discussing “visualization” in class. Visualization is about turning the words you are reading into a movie in your mind. Seeing the pictures that are only there in words. And we all felt like Erik did an outstanding job of that! Tomato and Pea is a great read-aloud. There is lots of dialogue and lots of onomatopoeia. (Big word!). The characters are all nicely drawn out and have very unique qualities. But “visualizing” the characters is where I had a hard time. There are NO PICTURES of the characters in the book. So, this is how I pictured Tomato and Pea —

IMG_3159IMG_3160

But the words in the book say that they DON’T look like a tomato and a pea! So we had to read over the descriptions again and again so I could get a better picture! The words say that Tomato is thin and has horns and when he sees his shadow he thinks he looks like the letter Y. And Pea says that he is taller and heavier than Tomato. So – they must be more like a hot dog and a cucumber.

IMG_3167

The kids had a much easier time with this visualization than I did. But I think I’m getting the hang of it!!

(I have to confess that I ate Tomato after this photo session.)

My 3rd graders loved this book. They gasped when the S.S.Poofy took off with villains and good guys all aboard. They screamed when the rocket crashed on EAR-TH. They laughed when the crew fell out and landed in a bird’s nest surrounded by giant birds. They shook with fright when the heroes were faced with a giant rat. They giggled when Pea used the Chameleon Cloak. They held their breath as the travelers tried to get to the computers in the library. 3rd graders give this book all thumbs up! We are all anxious to read about the next adventure!

Now, in honor of Tomato and Pea, and since we had those nice tomatoes from our garden, when we got home we made some yummy Texas Cavier!

IMG_3212IMG_3214

Those are black eye peas – yummmmm.

And this movie trailer is kind of a visualization of the S.S. Poofy

Now, Y’all go visit the other stops on the blog tour and then go out and find this book and have some fun!
Rhythm

Copy of img311

28 thoughts on “The Adventures of Tomato and Pea – a blog tour review!!

    • Thanks Ms Heavenrich! You definitely need to visit the other stops. And yes, big kudos to Erik! Isn’t that a big antelope? No, scuse me I’m thinking of KUDU. Anyway, yay for Erik! I’ll see what I can do about that recipe. I’m no cook. I’m just an eater.

    • Kids are much better than dogs, I think. You know when the Mom Person 1st came across your blog, she said “Rhythm!! It’s you!” Of course, it was Melvin, but she thought we could be twins. He is a handsome boy.

  1. THIS IS THE MOST AWESOME POST EVER! I am laughing hysterically at the hot god Tomato! Your Tomato and Pea really look like they are supposed to! 🙂 I like how you talk about visualization. I tried really hard to write good descriptions of the characters because I knew there would be no pictures. I am glad the 3rd graders liked my story! Thank you Rhythm!!!

  2. This is such a fantastic review, Rhythm! I love the way you managed to visualize Tomato into a hot dog that you could then gobble up! YAY for those third graders who loved Erik’s book. YAY for Erik!

    (And if your blog readers would like a chance to win their very own copy of The Adventures of Tomato and Pea, they can pop on over to my blog — I have a giveaway happening there, and any one who comments on my review of Erik’s book before noon eastern time on Thursday, Sept 19, has a chance to win!)

  3. What a creative post! I love the pictures and learning how you visualized Tomato and Pea! The hot god/hot dog is priceless! Stopping along the blog tour. Our friend Stanley was very excited to learn about you, Rhythm!
    ~Cool Mom/Christine M.
    Assistant to Stanley, Katrina & Gang : )

    • Thanks Ms Cool Mom! Nice to meet you all. That visualizing is a lot of work, but I’m glad to have been able to help out those 3rd graders with their lesson. We’ve had a good time being part of Erik’s blog tour!

  4. THIS IS AWESOME! Both the book and this review! Inspired me to “visualize”. I positively love this!
    (been away for a while, glad I got back to reading your blog to read this one, I’ll archive this one! I’ll probably order this book too!)

  5. This post had a lot of style! Lol, very fun! Rhythm, I believe you’d get along famously with my lab/golden mix. She reads or writes with me every single night…or at least keeps my feet warm. Great post!

Leave a Reply

