East Texas Book Fest

We had a big, big, busy weekend! Whew! The life of a working dog! We went on a bit of a road trip to Tyler, Texas, about 3 hours from our home in Glen Rose. Because —- we were participating in

The East Texas Book Fest!!

img436This was our first experience with a book festival. And it was an experience for sure! There were 65 authors there sharing their books and their writing journeys. There were library people and storytellers and newspaper people and photographers and kids!! — Lots of kids! and one other dog! Elvis. A gentlemanly Golden Retriever who also visits libraries.

IMG_3185IMG_3180

I painted our table cover! The illustrator of my book, Paul Howell, joined us for the day. He drew lots of pictures while sitting at our table.

IMG_3186IMG_3187

I got to help out at storytelling time. They had the best pillows. It was just like being at school.

IMG_3184IMG_3195

We provided some coloring pages for the kids, and another author provided tiaras! That’s my buddy Makenna with the big smile! She shared her tiara.

IMG_3198

But then we met Mamma Nellie who gave me my own tiara! Mamma Nellie’s daughter, Annette Bridges wrote a pretty funny book called The Gospel According to Mamma. Those two together are a pretty crazy pair! You can find out more about Ms Bridges and her books at her website here.

We got to meet lots of authors with some very interesting stories. Writers are really nice folks! And they like to talk a lot!

We met some newspaper folks, too. Ms Vanessa Pearson was quite interested in Paul’s story and wrote an article that was in the Tyler Morning Telegraph on Sunday!

We sold quite a few of my books. And the Mom Person purchased several books from other folks. Lots of books changing hands. One book that the Mom Person particularly fell in love with is put out by the Stephen F. Austin University Press. The book is a visual interpretation of a Wallace Stevens poem called Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blackbird. It is “imaged” by Corinne Jones and is a stunning book. A simple “culmination of sensation.”

IMG_3215IMG_3217

You might notice some of my drool on the cover. It’s that luscious! The SFA Press table had some really fine books that the Mom Person was drooling over. I had to pull her away from there!

We also met Elvis, as I mentioned. At the end of the day we were two tired pups!!

IMG_3200

For your listening pleasure — Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blackbird

All in all, it was a very fine day! I hope you had a fine weekend as well!
Happy trails to you all!
Rhythm

Copy of img311

7 thoughts on “East Texas Book Fest

  1. Do I see dots on you table cover? How appropriate for the fest. Has your mom written a book Rhythm? I wasn’t aware. I love book festivals or writing conferences, where there are a lot of authors and books! Glad you had such a great weekend! And, I love the photos.

    • Yes! My Paw Painted Dots!! My contribution to Dot Day!! and Yes, Me and the Mom Person wrote a book that came out in the spring. There’s a picture of it in my sidebar – Reading With Rhythm, the Tale of a Library Dog. It’s about my job as a library dog! We sure had a good time at this book fest! I hope we get to go to more.

Leave a Reply

