Happy? 4th of July!

camp gracie day 2 015The 4th of July is not our favorite holiday around here. It means parades – that’s fun. It means hot dogs and burgers — that’s really fun. It means Happy Birthday to America – that’s nice.

But it also means fireworks. And that means LOUD noise and FIRE. And that makes for a very stressful couple of days. We live in a rural area and everybody loves to shoot off fireworks. They start on July the 3rd and go all through the night and then the day of July 4th. I can hear them now as I’m telling you about it! We also live in a VERY DRY area. So sparks from fireworks are a potentially scary thing.

I don’t mind the fireworks one way or another, but my buddy Cisco thinks it’s lots of thunder and he gets major stressed. And the Mom Person stays stressed because she worries that our pasture and woods will go up in blazes of glory.

camp gracie day 2 028camp gracie day 2 018

So we watch the parade in town and then spend the rest of the time worrying.

I hope that you are taking care of your dogs during this stressful holiday and staying safe. I highly recommend a series of CDs made especially for calming dogs. It’s called Through A Dog’s Ear and was created by Lisa Specter and Joshua Leeds. You can find out all about it on their website here.

And here is a sample of Ms Specter playing some of this music –

18 thoughts on “Happy? 4th of July!

  1. Are those people riding bulls? That’s fairly unconventional! Fireworks are illegal round our way….except in the Northern Territory on Territory day, which incidentally was a few days ago. But NT people are a fairly unconventional mob also.

  2. Our town had their fireworks display last night. I am not afraid of fireworks. There will be more tonight, both the legal ones in nearby towns, and the illegal ones that the teenagers around here like. I will sleep through them. And hope that I don’t run into a ladder, a golf cart, a balloon, or any of the REALLY scary things that freak me out.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Our town fireworks were last night too! Along with all the neighborhood ones going off all night long. Do I need to be afraid of ladders? It never occurred to me! Enjoy your 4th today – and stay safe!!

  3. Fireworks can be scary for little children, too! And around here people start with the fireworks at the end of June and just keep going through July 4 and beyond until they run out!

  4. Hi Rhythm,
    Thanks for the tip with the CD. I’d never have known there’s such a thing like calming music for dogs. I don’t need that for July 4th, as we live far enough outside of Karnes City with no direct neighbours and thus we don’t hear any noise of the fireworks. But I could well use it when there are thunderstorms as our poor Sally is absolutely frightened by thunder. She tries to hide in the farthest corners then.
    Have a great 4th of July without too much noise,
    Pit

      • Fire danger is so high, home fireworks are illegal. The last 5 days have been over 110 degrees. There will be neighbors lighting off firecrackers, also illegal. But our girls are used to a 12 gauge shotguns going off right beside them in hunting and training. To them, it is the sound of candy.
        There are proper techniques to acclimate a dog to loud pops and noises, it must be done gradually and at a young age. Hang in there, my best advice is lots of hugs from your person…and just think of ducks and pheasants. 😉

        • We have a fire ban in effect here as well. Our grass is crunchy to walk on. But folks shoot off those fireworks anyway. That’s what the Mom Person worries about. I don’t worry about much of anything, except dinnertime and where my tennis ball is. Fireworks and loud booms don’t bother me. But my buddy Cisco is not real fond of that kind of stuff. I’ll tell him to think about ducks. Thanks Ms Livingston! y’all have a nice day!

  5. Hopefully life is a bit quieter now Rhythm. And that there were no fires. My dog Kajuq (pronounce Kayook- he was a brown husky and it is the Inuktitut word for light brown) hated fireworks too. There was one good thing about him getting older, as he went more deaf they did not bother him as much.

    • That’s a cool name, Kajuq. I’ll bet he was a good dog. Our weekend has not been too bad. No fires! We had some neighbors shooting off fireworks and that had our goats kind of spooked, but here in the house it wasn’t too bad. I slept through most of it, but I think my buddy Cisco was a little nervous. All is quiet now though! I think you’re in Canada? So you probably had a quiet weekend anyway! Hope you’ve had a good one! Thanks for checking on us!

Leave a Reply

