Peter Pan and the Beach

Over the weekend the Mom Person and the Big Guy with Treats went to a family celebration at the beach. Without me.

IMG_3648

They often go to family celebrations. The Mom Person’s family seems to always find reasons to have a party. They seem to find joy in life. This event was to celebrate Mother’s Day. When they have these celebrations, they usually have a theme that involves what they eat and what they wear and the games they play or the gifts they exchange.  This weekend’s theme was Peter Pan.

IMG_1938There seems to have been a discussion about the story of Peter Pan. Was the real story sweet and smarmy like the Disney movie? Or more sinister like the TV show Once Upon a Time?

Well, now the Mom Person is compelled to answer that question. So we are embarking on a quest to read the book Peter and Wendy by J.M. Barrie.

IMG_2019IMG_2022

Peter Pan 1st appeared in 1902 in a book called The Little White Bird as a magical infant who flies around with fairies. His story in this book was expanded in 1904 and made into a play called Peter Pan, or the Boy Who Wouldn’t Grow Up. This was then developed into the book Peter and Wendy.

This book was published in 1911 by Charles Scribner’s Sons. It begins …

“All children, except one, grow up. They soon know that they will grow up, and the way Wendy knew was this. One day when she was two years old she was playing in a garden, and……….. You always know after you are two. Two is the beginning of the end.”

I don’t know of anyone who has actually read the book or the original play of Peter Pan. Everyone has just seen the movie. I would kind of like to know of anyone who has read the book. Let me know!

It will take us awhile to read the whole book, but I will keep you posted about our progress.

I hope you all had a nice Mother’s Day. Another day, I will tell you about how I spent mine. Not at the beach. Which would have been really nice.

And they’re flying!! —

12 thoughts on “Peter Pan and the Beach

  1. Mom has never read the book, but she watched Peter Pan the movie every year when she was little. They showed it once a year like clockwork, same as The Wizard of Oz.

    Love and licks and I hope I never grow up either,
    Cupcake Pan

    • My Mom Person has watched it on TV as well. With Mary Martin, like the video. It has made her nostalgic. I don’t know much about Peter Pan. But I’m enjoying this book! The kids are taken care of by a Newfoundland named Nana!! Isn’t that fabulous!What a great job!

  2. Peter Pan with Mary Martin was my favorite film. I never read the book, but have seen many stage versions starring Sandy Duncan and Cathy Rigby. Always thought how much fun it would to play Peter Pan. Also loved the movie Hook. Like Genevieve I watched Peter Pan and the Wizard of Oz every year on TV.

  3. I LOVE Peter Pan, and I think you look very cute in the green hat. I thought you’d like to know there’s a yellow where I am staying who is lying next to me now and helping me with my blog like you do, Rhythm.

    • Thanks Ms Marple! In the book, Peter isn’t wearing a hat! It seems that everyone loves Peter Pan. I find that interesting. He seems to be rather obnoxious to me. It’s nice to know that you have a friend beside you. And what is his/her name?

    • I don’t have a good answer for that one. Even in the very 1st play, Peter was played by a girl. And I’ve read that it has something to do with the play being pantomine and in a pantomine boys are played by girls. Go figure!

Leave a Reply

