Home Run!!

I’ve been going to school for quite a few years and have seen a lot of kids growing up and becoming teenagers who don’t have the need to read to dogs anymore. I rarely see these “big” kids after they leave the elementary school. But sometimes I run into them in town or at the park or in the library. Like tonight. A couple of my favorite girls who I haven’t seen in a couple of years came by the library to see me! I was very excited to see them! And they were excited that I remembered them. I don’t know why they would be surprised about that!

They were also thrilled to read me and Walker a couple of books. They picked out some good ones, too. J plays softball and she picked out a baseball book. ( How appropriate! Since I have been fantasizing about a secret life as a ball player!) This book is about Babe Ruth who is a famous ball player. It’s called Home Run. It was written by Robert Burleigh and illustrated by Mike Wimmer. It was published by Harcourt Brace & Company in 1998.

IMG_1141

It’s probably suitable for 1st grade and up. It is a rather unique book. To begin with, there is no title on the cover! The cover looks like a folded shirt! Cool! And the story is written in kind of free verse, poetic prose. It’s lovely. First page — simply, “He is the Babe.” Second page — “He has always loved this game. This baseball. But what he does not know yet is this: He will change this game he loves. Forever.”

And on each page, along with the verse, there are boxes kind of like the backs of baseball cards that have interesting facts about baseball and Babe Ruth. The illustrations are stunning! So realistic you can hear the crack of the bat and the cheers of the crowd. You can feel the power behind that swing.

IMG_1137IMG_1139

I don’t know a lot about baseball. I’ve been to a lot of games and like the excitement of it all. I wish I could play. I’m a good catcher!! I also have never heard of Babe Ruth. But I sure know a lot about him now! Wow! If you’re at all interested in baseball, you should read this book. Just Wow!

Some of the teachers at my school use baseball in math lessons. Here’s a link to some baseball math ideas.
Kids could make their own baseball cards with their picture on the front and some facts about them on the back. When I was a Guide Dog Puppy in Training, I had a “baseball” card of myself that I gave to kids.
Just playing the game of baseball is a great activity!

And here is a video of Babe Ruth hitting his 60th homerun!

Now you can venture over to Susanna Hill’s blog for more fun picture books and resources. It’s Perfect Picture Book Friday!

22 thoughts on “Home Run!!

    • Thanks Ms Tilton! I think that you would like this book. And the baseball math is pretty cool. They do it at my school and the kids study baseball and do statistics and graphs and physics and all kinds of stuff. Then go to a ball game at the end! It’s great!

  1. Hey – I have the same glasses, Rhythm! I am not a baseball fan – not for the game itself, but there is some great history that surrounds it – and I really enjoy that! Will definitely be looking for this one!

    • Isn’t that the coolest cover ever?! I hope you enjoy your ball game! I like going to games. We’re Texas Ranger fans here. And then there’s all the little kid games I get to go to as well!

  2. What a unique way to make a book by making it in the shape of a shirt. And its’ clever to write a biography in verse. Will have to watch out for this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

