Tiny Green Thumbs

Well, I’ve started on my quest to read 300 books this year! Book No. 1 is a gardening book called Tiny Green Thumbs. It was written by C.Z. Guest and illustrated by Loretta Krupinski. It was published in 2000 by Hyperion Books for Children.

IMG_0309It’s about a little bunny named Tiny Bun who decides he wants to do some gardening. He wants to use all the gardening tools in the shed, especially the hose. Why, I don’t know. I didn’t know that rabbits liked water. Anyway, He asks his Ganny Bun how to grow a garden. And she proceeds to instruct him all through the gardening season until they have a nice big harvest.

I was attracted to this book because of the Bunnies. I like bunnies. And the illustrations are really, really nice.

IMG_0304 IMG_0301

I really do like the illustrations. But I must say that the book was really boring. It is a gardening manual. Measure the bed, dig the trench, pour in the seeds, weed the bed, water the plants, pick off bugs. Boring. Now I like gardening. I help my Mom Person when I can. I help her decide where she needs to plant something and then I help her dig holes for it. She’s always very appreciative. But this book offers no new sparkling insights into gardening. The bunnies are really cute. But it’s boring.

The author, on the other hand, appears to be rather fascinating! A New York socialite, actress, model, married into the Winston Churchill family, horticulturist. Now she might be worth reading a book about! You may read something about her here.

One read and 299 more to go. I can do a little math too!

6 thoughts on “Tiny Green Thumbs

Leave a Reply

